How cheaper dog insurance compares: accident-only, time-limited and entry-level lifetime cover
The ABI's average pet premium was £389 a year in 2023, and cheaper cover usually means accident-only or time-limited policies. One UK practice's plan for a diabetic dog costs £175.88 to £237.91 a month, which a time-limited policy stops paying after 12 months.
Pawwala is not authorised by the FCA. We explain how cover works and do not give advice or recommend insurers. Pawwala earns a fee when you get a quote through a link marked Ad. Always read the policy wording. How we make money
Key facts
- Accident-only cover pays nothing for illness. 2 of the 11 insurers we read sell it.
- Time-limited cover stops paying for a condition after 12 months; the limits we found were £1,500 to £3,000 per condition.
- Lifetime cover costs more but renews the vet-fee limit every year, which matters for long-term conditions.
- Entry-level lifetime levels start at £1,000 a year at several insurers, which one large bill can use up.
The four types of cover
| Type | How the limit works | Long-term conditions | Watch out for |
|---|---|---|---|
| Lifetime | Resets each year you renew | Keeps paying, up to the yearly limit | Premiums usually rise with age and claims |
| Per-condition (maximum benefit) | A fixed total for each condition | Stops once that condition's total is used up | The size of the per-condition total |
| Time-limited | Per condition, for a set time, often 12 months | Stops when the time runs out, even if treatment continues | You pay ongoing costs after that |
| Accident-only | Accidents and injuries only | Illness is not covered | No cover for illness at all |
The type of cover decides what happens if your pet develops a long-term condition. For the full picture, see lifetime vs annual pet insurance.
Questions to ask any insurer
- What is the vet-fee limit, and is it per year or per condition?
- What is the excess, and is it per condition or per claim? Is there a co-payment, and from what age?
- Are there sub-limits inside the main limit, for example for one condition or for dental treatment?
- How are conditions that affect both sides of the body, such as both knees, treated?
- Are hereditary and breed-related conditions covered?
- What happens to the price and the cover at renewal?
The answers are in the policy wording and the insurance product information document (IPID). If they are not clear, ask the insurer before you buy.
What does accident-only dog insurance cover?
Accident-only cover pays vet fees after an injury, such as a road accident, a broken leg or a swallowed object, up to its limit. It pays nothing for illness, so cancer, diabetes, allergies and skin or ear problems are all yours to pay. It is the cheapest type, and the narrowest: on the day we checked, Petplan said it does not sell accident-only cover and MORE THAN had stopped offering it. Check the limit against what treatment costs: cruciate surgery was £3,400–£6,250 at referral centres in our average vet bill guide.
Time-limited vs lifetime cover: what does the cheaper policy cost you?
Three scenarios, using published figures rather than quotes, show when the cheaper policy works and when it does not.
Scenario 1: your dog stays healthy
At the ABI's 2023 average premium of £389 a year, five years of cover costs about £1,945. With no claims, a cheaper policy would have cost less, but nobody knows in advance that their dog will stay healthy.
Scenario 2: a one-off injury
A broken leg or cruciate rupture is what accident-only and time-limited policies are designed for, as long as the limit is high enough. A time-limited limit of £3,000 would not cover referral cruciate surgery at the top of the £3,400–£6,250 range.
Scenario 3: a long-term condition
The long-term condition gap
One UK practice group publishes a monthly plan for diabetic dogs at £175.88 to £237.91 a month by weight, covering medication, monitoring and diet (The Pet Vet). That is £2,110.56 to £2,854.92 a year. A time-limited policy pays towards the first 12 months only; the next four years, £8,442.24 to £11,419.68, would be yours. A lifetime policy keeps paying each year up to its limit, after the excess and any co-payment. Prices at your own vet will differ.
Why is pet insurance so expensive?
Premiums follow vet prices. The Competition and Markets Authority found average prices at UK vet businesses rose 63% between January 2016 and December 2023, against 32% general inflation, and that around 20% of treatments with an insurance claim cost £500 or more (CMA final report, 24 March 2026). The ABI reported the average claim rose 3% to £685 in 2024, with £1.23 billion paid out (ABI).
Your own price also depends on your dog. The PDSA lists age, breed, postcode and claims history as the main factors (PDSA guide to pet insurance). For an older dog, see pet insurance for older dogs.
How can you reduce your dog insurance premium?
- Choose a higher voluntary excess: A higher excess usually lowers the premium, but you pay it on every condition you claim for. See what it means for a claim in our excess guide.
- Pay annually rather than monthly: Some insurers charge more in total if you pay monthly. Compare the annual and monthly totals before choosing.
- Ask about multi-pet discounts: If you have two or more pets, ask whether the insurer offers a multi-pet discount.
- Compare at every renewal: Premiums usually rise at renewal, and the FCA's renewal pricing rule does not cover pet insurance. A new insurer will exclude any condition already treated.
- Know what a health plan covers instead: Routine care such as vaccinations and flea treatment is not insurance; a practice health plan spreads those costs.
More detail: pet insurance excess explained and pet health plan vs insurance.
What would a claim pay back?
An illustration of how excess, co-payment and limits add up. Your policy wording decides what is actually paid. Some policies apply the excess per condition, others per claim.
Insurer pays
£1,120.80
You pay
£379.20
How it adds up
- Bill £1,500 minus excess £99 leaves £1,401.
- Co-payment of 20% on £1,401 is £280.20.
- The insurer's share is £1,401 minus £280.20 = £1,120.80. That is within the limit left of £4,000, so the insurer pays £1,120.80.
- Your share: excess £99 + co-payment £280.20 = £379.20.
This uses no real insurer's terms. Policies can also have sub-limits, for example for one condition or for dental treatment, and claims for a condition can be declined under the policy's exclusions.
Open it on its own page: pet insurance claim calculator.
Lower-cost options by insurer, A to Z
Listed alphabetically. This is not a ranking.
The lower-cost cover each insurer sells, from its current policy documents. Premiums vary with breed, age, postcode and excess, so get a quote for your own dog.
Agria
- Cover sold
- Lifetime only, four levels
- Lower-cost option
- Lifetime Lite: £3,000 a year
- Co-payment (dogs)
- Percentage excess shown on your schedule; no starting age in the documents
- Checked
- 2026-10-21
Animal Friends
- Cover sold
- Lifetime, per-condition lifetime, maximum benefit, time-limited and accident-only ranges
- Lower-cost option
- Time-limited, maximum benefit and accident-only ranges
- Co-payment (dogs)
- 20% or 35% from age 8
- Checked
- 2026-10-21
John Lewis
- Cover sold
- Lifetime, maximum benefit or time-limited
- Lower-cost option
- Maximum benefit and time-limited cover
- Co-payment (dogs)
- Percentage becomes fixed from an age shown on your certificate
- Checked
- 2026-10-21
LV=
- Cover sold
- Lifetime or time-limited
- Lower-cost option
- Time-limited: up to £3,000 per condition for 12 months
- Co-payment (dogs)
- 20% from the renewal after the 8th birthday (not on the £1,000 level)
- Checked
- 2026-10-21
ManyPets
- Cover sold
- Lifetime plans (Essential, Standard, Standard Pre-existing, Complete Care)
- Lower-cost option
- Essential Care: £1,000 to £5,000 a year
- Co-payment (dogs)
- 20% from the first renewal after the 7th birthday
- Checked
- Awaiting re-check
MORE THAN
- Cover sold
- Basic (time-limited), Classic (maximum benefit) or Premier (lifetime)
- Lower-cost option
- Basic: £1,500 or £3,000 per condition for 12 months
- Co-payment (dogs)
- Optional 0%, 10% or 20% before age 9; 20% from age 9
- Checked
- 2026-10-21
Petplan
- Cover sold
- Lifetime (Covered For Life) or time-limited (Essential)
- Lower-cost option
- Essential: £3,000 per condition for 12 months
- Co-payment (dogs)
- 20% from the renewal after the 10th birthday (7th for select breeds) on Covered For Life
- Checked
- 2026-10-21
Purely Pets
- Cover sold
- Lifetime only, 15 levels
- Lower-cost option
- Lifetime Bronze: £1,000 to £5,000 a year
- Co-payment (dogs)
- 20% from age 6
- Checked
- Awaiting re-check
RSPCA Pet Insurance
- Cover sold
- Lifetime, four levels
- Lower-cost option
- Lifetime £1,000 a year
- Co-payment (dogs)
- Percentage may become fixed from an age shown on your certificate
- Checked
- 2026-10-21
Tesco Pet Insurance
- Cover sold
- Lifetime, maximum benefit, time-limited, or accident and injury
- Lower-cost option
- Accident and injury, maximum benefit and time-limited cover
- Co-payment (dogs)
- Not stated in the IPIDs
- Checked
- 2026-10-21
Waggel
- Cover sold
- Lifetime only
- Lower-cost option
- Lifetime only; limit chosen at quote
- Co-payment (dogs)
- Optional; no age-related co-payment stated
- Checked
- 2026-10-21
| Insurer | Cover sold | Lower-cost option | Co-payment (dogs) | Checked |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Agria | Lifetime only, four levels | Lifetime Lite: £3,000 a year | Percentage excess shown on your schedule; no starting age in the documents | 2026-10-21 |
| Animal Friends | Lifetime, per-condition lifetime, maximum benefit, time-limited and accident-only ranges | Time-limited, maximum benefit and accident-only ranges | 20% or 35% from age 8 | 2026-10-21 |
| John Lewis | Lifetime, maximum benefit or time-limited | Maximum benefit and time-limited cover | Percentage becomes fixed from an age shown on your certificate | 2026-10-21 |
| LV= | Lifetime or time-limited | Time-limited: up to £3,000 per condition for 12 months | 20% from the renewal after the 8th birthday (not on the £1,000 level) | 2026-10-21 |
| ManyPets | Lifetime plans (Essential, Standard, Standard Pre-existing, Complete Care) | Essential Care: £1,000 to £5,000 a year | 20% from the first renewal after the 7th birthday | Awaiting re-check |
| MORE THAN | Basic (time-limited), Classic (maximum benefit) or Premier (lifetime) | Basic: £1,500 or £3,000 per condition for 12 months | Optional 0%, 10% or 20% before age 9; 20% from age 9 | 2026-10-21 |
| Petplan | Lifetime (Covered For Life) or time-limited (Essential) | Essential: £3,000 per condition for 12 months | 20% from the renewal after the 10th birthday (7th for select breeds) on Covered For Life | 2026-10-21 |
| Purely Pets | Lifetime only, 15 levels | Lifetime Bronze: £1,000 to £5,000 a year | 20% from age 6 | Awaiting re-check |
| RSPCA Pet Insurance | Lifetime, four levels | Lifetime £1,000 a year | Percentage may become fixed from an age shown on your certificate | 2026-10-21 |
| Tesco Pet Insurance | Lifetime, maximum benefit, time-limited, or accident and injury | Accident and injury, maximum benefit and time-limited cover | Not stated in the IPIDs | 2026-10-21 |
| Waggel | Lifetime only | Lifetime only; limit chosen at quote | Optional; no age-related co-payment stated | 2026-10-21 |
Premiums and 'from' prices are not shown: they are not published in policy documents and depend on your dog. Policy facts come from each insurer's own policy wording or IPID on the date shown in the row. Rows marked 'Awaiting re-check' could not be confirmed against current documents. Limits and excess often depend on the level you choose and are confirmed in your own schedule or certificate. Always read the policy wording and get your own quote.
What changed in this update
- 21 October 2026: Budget table rebuilt from 11 insurers' current documents; removed Petpals (now redirects to Pet Protect) and all unsourced 'from' prices; added the CMA vet price rise and ABI figures; long-term condition example now uses one practice's published diabetic plan price instead of example premiums.
Getting quotes
A comparison site shows quotes from several insurers at once. Comparison sites do not cover the whole market, so you may also want to check insurers directly. Compare the cover type, limit, excess and exclusions before the price.
Not advice. Pawwala earns a fee if you get a quote through this link. Read the policy wording before you buy.
Special cases
Sources
- Association of British Insurers: insurance payouts for pets top £1 billion for third year in a row (2024 data) · May 2025; checked 21 October 2026
- Insurance Business UK: report of the ABI's 2024 pet insurance figures · 27 May 2025; checked 21 October 2026
- Competition and Markets Authority: veterinary services for household pets, summary of the final report · 24 March 2026; checked 21 October 2026
- The Pet Vet: diabetic maintenance plan (one UK practice group's monthly plan) · no date on page; checked 21 October 2026
- PDSA: A guide to pet insurance (leaflet) · August 2017; checked 21 October 2026
- Agria: Agria Lifelong policy pack (dog), published 03/2025, and Lifetime IPIDs · checked 21 October 2026
- Animal Friends: Animal Friends policy booklets and IPIDs, January 2026 (v6) · checked 21 October 2026
- John Lewis: John Lewis Pet Insurance policy wording P3431v2 (Pinnacle), October 2025 · checked 21 October 2026
- LV=: LV= Pet Insurance Lifetime policy booklet, plans bought from 6 August 2026 · checked 21 October 2026
- MORE THAN: MORE THAN pet insurance policy booklet MTPET-PB-02, policies from 15 June 2026 · checked 21 October 2026
- Petplan: Petplan Covered For Life and Essential policy booklets, effective 17 June 2024 · checked 21 October 2026
- RSPCA Pet Insurance: RSPCA Pet Insurance policy wording P3338v5 (Pinnacle), January 2026 · checked 21 October 2026
- Tesco Pet Insurance: Tesco Pet Insurance Lifetime IPID IP3416A (Pinnacle) · checked 21 October 2026
- Waggel: Waggel policy wording version 21, effective 17 February 2026 (latest public version) · checked 21 October 2026
More to read
Frequently asked questions
What is the cheapest type of dog insurance in the UK?
Accident-only cover is usually the cheapest type, followed by time-limited illness cover; lifetime cover costs more because the vet-fee limit resets every year. Of the 11 insurers whose documents we read on 21 October 2026, two sell accident-only cover. Prices depend on breed, age, postcode and excess, so compare live quotes.
Is cheap dog insurance worth it?
It depends on what it leaves out. Accident-only or time-limited policies are better than nothing, but if your dog develops a long-term illness, a time-limited or maximum benefit policy can stop paying and leave you covering ongoing treatment yourself. Compare what each policy pays for long-term conditions, not only the price.
Why is pet insurance so expensive?
Mainly because vet treatment has become more expensive. The Competition and Markets Authority found average prices at UK vet businesses rose 63% between 2016 and 2023, against 32% general inflation. The ABI reported the average claim rose 3% to £685 in 2024.
How can I reduce my dog insurance premium?
Choose a higher voluntary excess, pay annually where monthly payments cost more, ask about multi-pet discounts, and compare quotes at renewal rather than auto-renewing. Remember a new insurer will exclude any condition already treated.
What does time-limited dog insurance mean?
Time-limited policies cover each condition for 12 months, up to a limit per condition (for example £1,500 to £3,000 in the documents we read). After that the condition is no longer covered, even if your dog still needs treatment.