Skip to content
Pawwala

Best cat food UK 2026: 9 wet and dry foods compared on cost, protein and meat content

Prices checked 21 October 2026How we compared · 27 sourcesAdWe earn from links marked Ad. It never changes the order. How we make money

Quick answer: our picks from the 9 foods we compared (4 kg adult cat)

Lowest cost per day
James Wellbeloved Adult Turkey & Rice£0.46–£0.51

Dry, complete. Cost per day for a 4 kg cat, or £13.80–£15.30 a month; complete dry foods here cost about £0.46–£0.52 a day.

See price at zooplusAd£33.69 for 4 kg, checked 21 Oct 2026
Highest declared meat of the complete foods
Lily's Kitchen Smooth Paté65%

Wet, complete. 65% named meat; £0.79–£1.83 a day. Several big brands do not declare a total.

See price at zooplusAd£16.59 for 32 × 85 g, checked 21 Oct 2026
Most protein per 100 kcal
Felix As Good As It Looks15.3 g

Wet, complete. Protein per 100 kcal from the maker's label (11.5% protein, 75 kcal per 100 g); £1.01–£1.35 a day.

See price at zooplusAd£26.99 for 80 × 85 g, checked 21 Oct 2026
Applaws cans are complementary: feed them alongside a complete food, not instead of one. Cats on dry food should be encouraged to drink (International Cat Care).

Cat foods compared for a 4 kg cat

The short answer

For a 4 kg adult cat, the complete dry foods we compared cost £0.46 to £0.52 a day (about £13.80 to £15.60 a month) and the complete wet foods £0.79 to £3.17 a day, at zooplus UK one-off prices checked on 21 October 2026. Where the label states energy, the complete wet foods give 10.9 to 15.3 g of protein per 100 kcal and the dry foods 6.8 to 7.7 g.

How we picked these 9: complete wet and dry foods from widely sold UK brands, plus one complementary food for contrast, each with a zooplus UK price, a feeding guide for a 4 kg cat and a full ingredients list. Cost per day uses the maker's feeding guide and the single-purchase price; cost per month is that figure × 30. Multipacks, larger bags and subscriptions are often cheaper: see our cat food subscription comparison.

Food type:
Sort:

Showing 9 of 9.

  • Lily's Kitchen Smooth Paté (multipack)
    Wet, complete
    Best for: The highest declared meat content of the complete foods here
    £0.79–£1.83checked 21 Oct 2026
    Cost per month (× 30)
    £23.70–£54.90
    Price and pack
    £16.59 for 32 × 85 g
    Daily amount (4 kg cat)
    130–180 g indoor or neutered; 220–300 g active
    Declared meat
    65% named meat
    How we worked out £0.79–£1.83

    £16.59 ÷ 2,720 g × 130–300 g

  • Purina Pro Plan Sterilised Adult Chicken (pouches)
    Wet, complete
    Best for: A wet food for neutered cats
    £1.91checked 21 Oct 2026
    Cost per month (× 30)
    £57.30
    Price and pack
    £15.29 for 20 × 85 g
    Daily amount (4 kg cat)
    2½ pouches
    Declared meat
    Not declared (label: 4% chicken)
    How we worked out £1.91

    £15.29 ÷ 20 × 2.5

  • Whiskas 1+ Poultry Feasts in Jelly
    Wet, complete
    Best for: A widely available supermarket wet food
    £1.01–£1.15checked 21 Oct 2026
    Cost per month (× 30)
    £30.30–£34.50
    Price and pack
    £24.19 for 84 × 85 g
    Daily amount (4 kg cat)
    3½–4 pouches
    Declared meat
    Not declared for the whole pouch
    How we worked out £1.01–£1.15

    £24.19 ÷ 84 × 3.5–4

  • Felix As Good As It Looks (in jelly)
    Wet, complete
    Best for: A low-cost wet food
    £1.01–£1.35checked 21 Oct 2026
    Cost per month (× 30)
    £30.30–£40.50
    Price and pack
    £26.99 for 80 × 85 g
    Daily amount (4 kg cat)
    3–4 pouches
    Declared meat
    12–14% meat and animal by-products
    How we worked out £1.01–£1.35

    £26.99 ÷ 80 × 3–4

  • Bozita Chunks in Jelly (salmon)
    Wet, complete, grain-free
    Best for: Grain-free wet food
    £3.17checked 21 Oct 2026
    Cost per month (× 30)
    £95.10
    Price and pack
    £25.39 for 24 × 85 g
    Daily amount (4 kg cat)
    3 pouches
    Declared meat
    37% meat and animal by-products (8% salmon)
    How we worked out £3.17

    £25.39 ÷ 24 × 3

  • James Wellbeloved Adult Cat Turkey & Rice
    Dry, complete; labelled hypoallergenic
    Best for: The lowest daily cost here
    £0.46–£0.51checked 21 Oct 2026
    Cost per month (× 30)
    £13.80–£15.30
    Price and pack
    £33.69 for 4 kg
    Daily amount (4 kg cat)
    55–60 g
    Declared meat
    29.5% dried turkey protein
    How we worked out £0.46–£0.51

    £33.69 ÷ 4,000 g × 55–60 g

  • Royal Canin British Shorthair Adult
    Dry, complete; breed-specific
    Best for: British Shorthair owners
    £0.51checked 21 Oct 2026
    Cost per month (× 30)
    £15.30
    Price and pack
    £39.39 for 4 kg
    Daily amount (4 kg cat)
    52 g
    Declared meat
    Not declared
    How we worked out £0.51

    £39.39 ÷ 4,000 g × 52 g

  • Hill's Science Plan Adult 1-6 Chicken
    Dry, complete
    Best for: A low daily cost dry food
    £0.52checked 21 Oct 2026
    Cost per month (× 30)
    £15.60
    Price and pack
    £25.89 for 3 kg
    Daily amount (4 kg cat)
    60 g
    Declared meat
    26% poultry
    How we worked out £0.52

    £25.89 ÷ 3,000 g × 60 g

  • Applaws cat cans (chicken selection in broth)
    Wet, COMPLEMENTARY: not a complete diet
    Best for: A topper or treat alongside a complete food
    £1.80checked 21 Oct 2026
    Cost per month (× 30)
    £54.00
    Price and pack
    £10.79 for 12 × 70 g
    Daily amount (4 kg cat)
    2 cans (maker's guide, 3–5 kg)
    Declared meat
    70–75% chicken breast
    How we worked out £1.80

    £10.79 ÷ 12 × 2

Prices, feeding amounts and label information from the zooplus UK pages linked, checked on 21 October 2026.

How we compared · 27 sources, checked 21 October 2026Show

What we did

re-checked every price, feeding amount, meat percentage and 'complete' or 'complementary' label on the zooplus UK product pages on 21 October 2026, and calculated cost per day for a 4 kg adult cat and cost per month (× 30). We took each food's protein, moisture and energy from its label (zooplus, or the maker's UK page where zooplus gives no analysis) and worked out protein per 100 kcal and protein on a dry-matter basis, and checked a second price for four wet foods at Ocado. Health statements come from International Cat Care, the PDSA, Cats Protection, UK Pet Food, FEDIAF, a VetCompass study and the ISFM kidney disease guidelines.

What we did not do

feed these foods to our own cats; this is a comparison of prices, labels and feeding guides. Earlier versions of this page gave meat percentages and daily costs that did not match the labels and prices, used the US name 'Science Diet' for Hill's, and claimed kidney disease is caused by dry food; these have been corrected. Farmina N&D is not listed because we could not confirm a current UK price.

Sources checked

  1. Lily's Kitchen Smooth Paté (multipack) · 21 October 2026
  2. Purina Pro Plan Sterilised Adult Chicken (pouches) · 21 October 2026
  3. Whiskas 1+ Poultry Feasts in Jelly · 21 October 2026
  4. Felix As Good As It Looks (in jelly) · 21 October 2026
  5. Bozita Chunks in Jelly (salmon) · 21 October 2026
  6. James Wellbeloved Adult Cat Turkey & Rice · 21 October 2026
  7. Royal Canin British Shorthair Adult · 21 October 2026
  8. Hill's Science Plan Adult 1-6 Chicken · 21 October 2026
  9. Applaws cat cans (chicken selection in broth) · 21 October 2026
  10. International Cat Care: Should I feed my cat wet or dry food? · 21 October 2026
  11. O'Neill et al. (2015), VetCompass: longevity and mortality of cats in England · 21 October 2026
  12. ISFM Consensus Guidelines on feline chronic kidney disease (2016) · 21 October 2026
  13. PDSA: Obesity in cats · 21 October 2026
  14. Cats Protection: Best food for old cats (12 June 2024) · 21 October 2026
  15. Purina UK: Pro Plan Sterilised Maintenance Chicken (label analysis) · 21 October 2026
  16. Purina UK: Felix As Good As It Looks Favourites Selection in Jelly (label analysis) · 21 October 2026
  17. Wellbeloved UK: Adult Turkey & Rice Dry Cat Food (label analysis) · 21 October 2026
  18. Royal Canin UK: British Shorthair Adult (label analysis) · 21 October 2026
  19. Hill's Pet Nutrition UK: Science Plan Adult with Chicken (nutrient and caloric content) · 21 October 2026
  20. FEDIAF Nutritional Guidelines (September 2025), Tables III-4a and III-4b · 21 October 2026
  21. UK Pet Food: Understanding pet food labels (fact sheet) · 21 October 2026
  22. Regulation (EC) No 767/2009 as it applies in the UK, Annex I point 6 (moisture over 14% must be stated) · 21 October 2026
  23. PDSA: What to feed your cat · 21 October 2026
  24. Ocado: Lily's Kitchen Smooth Paté (multipack) (32 × 85 g, £34.50) · 21 October 2026
  25. Ocado: Purina Pro Plan Sterilised Adult Chicken (pouches) (10 × 85 g, £7.49) · 21 October 2026
  26. Ocado: Whiskas 1+ Poultry Feasts in Jelly (40 × 85 g, £13.75) · 21 October 2026
  27. Ocado: Felix As Good As It Looks (in jelly) (40 × 85 g (Favourites Selection), £14.00) · 21 October 2026

Prices and terms change. Confirm on the retailer's page before you buy.

Each food in detail

Highest declared meat of the complete foods

Lily's Kitchen Smooth Paté (multipack)

Wet, complete

Cost per day
£0.79–£1.83
Price and pack
£16.59 for 32 × 85 g
Daily amount (4 kg cat)
130–180 g indoor or neutered; 220–300 g active
Declared meat
65% named meat

Why it made the list

The highest declared meat content of the complete foods here

See price at zooplusAd£16.59 checked 21 Oct 2026
How we worked out £0.79–£1.83

£16.59 ÷ 2,720 g × 130–300 g

Purina Pro Plan Sterilised Adult Chicken (pouches)

Wet, complete

Cost per day
£1.91
Price and pack
£15.29 for 20 × 85 g
Daily amount (4 kg cat)
2½ pouches
Declared meat
Not declared (label: 4% chicken)

Why it made the list

A wet food for neutered cats

See price at zooplusAd£15.29 checked 21 Oct 2026
How we worked out £1.91

£15.29 ÷ 20 × 2.5

Whiskas 1+ Poultry Feasts in Jelly

Wet, complete

Cost per day
£1.01–£1.15
Price and pack
£24.19 for 84 × 85 g
Daily amount (4 kg cat)
3½–4 pouches
Declared meat
Not declared for the whole pouch

Why it made the list

A widely available supermarket wet food

See price at zooplusAd£24.19 checked 21 Oct 2026
How we worked out £1.01–£1.15

£24.19 ÷ 84 × 3.5–4

Felix As Good As It Looks (in jelly)

Wet, complete

Cost per day
£1.01–£1.35
Price and pack
£26.99 for 80 × 85 g
Daily amount (4 kg cat)
3–4 pouches
Declared meat
12–14% meat and animal by-products

Why it made the list

A low-cost wet food

See price at zooplusAd£26.99 checked 21 Oct 2026
How we worked out £1.01–£1.35

£26.99 ÷ 80 × 3–4

Bozita Chunks in Jelly (salmon)

Wet, complete, grain-free

Cost per day
£3.17
Price and pack
£25.39 for 24 × 85 g
Daily amount (4 kg cat)
3 pouches
Declared meat
37% meat and animal by-products (8% salmon)

Why it made the list

Grain-free wet food

See price at zooplusAd£25.39 checked 21 Oct 2026
How we worked out £3.17

£25.39 ÷ 24 × 3

Lowest cost per day

James Wellbeloved Adult Cat Turkey & Rice

Dry, complete; labelled hypoallergenic

Cost per day
£0.46–£0.51
Price and pack
£33.69 for 4 kg
Daily amount (4 kg cat)
55–60 g
Declared meat
29.5% dried turkey protein

Why it made the list

The lowest daily cost here

See price at zooplusAd£33.69 checked 21 Oct 2026
How we worked out £0.46–£0.51

£33.69 ÷ 4,000 g × 55–60 g

Royal Canin British Shorthair Adult

Dry, complete; breed-specific

Cost per day
£0.51
Price and pack
£39.39 for 4 kg
Daily amount (4 kg cat)
52 g
Declared meat
Not declared

Why it made the list

British Shorthair owners

See price at zooplusAd£39.39 checked 21 Oct 2026
How we worked out £0.51

£39.39 ÷ 4,000 g × 52 g

Hill's Science Plan Adult 1-6 Chicken

Dry, complete

Cost per day
£0.52
Price and pack
£25.89 for 3 kg
Daily amount (4 kg cat)
60 g
Declared meat
26% poultry

Why it made the list

A low daily cost dry food

See price at zooplusAd£25.89 checked 21 Oct 2026
How we worked out £0.52

£25.89 ÷ 3,000 g × 60 g

Applaws cat cans (chicken selection in broth)

Wet, COMPLEMENTARY: not a complete diet

Cost per day
£1.80
Price and pack
£10.79 for 12 × 70 g
Daily amount (4 kg cat)
2 cans (maker's guide, 3–5 kg)
Declared meat
70–75% chicken breast

Why it made the list

A topper or treat alongside a complete food

See price at zooplusAd£10.79 checked 21 Oct 2026
How we worked out £1.80

£10.79 ÷ 12 × 2

Best wet cat food UK: the 5 complete wet foods compared

The 5complete wet cat foods in this comparison, cheapest first by the lowest daily cost for a 4 kg cat. Each label names a reason you can check on the pack or price, not a judgement of quality. Where we could find the same recipe at a second UK retailer, the Ocado price is worked out the same way (pack price ÷ pouches × the maker's daily amount), so you can see how much the retailer matters: Lily's Kitchen costs about twice as much a day at Ocado as at zooplus, while Pro Plan is slightly cheaper there. Applaws is left out because it is complementary.

zooplus UK one-off prices and Ocado prices checked on 21 Oct 2026; feeding amounts from each maker's guide for a 4 kg cat. Protein figures are from the label, with the working in the protein table below. Ocado has a £40 minimum order.
FoodWhy it is on the listCost per day: zooplusCost per day: OcadoProtein per 100 kcalProtein, dry matter
Lily's Kitchen Smooth Paté (multipack)Highest declared meat of the complete foods (65% named meat)£0.79–£1.83£16.59 for 32 × 85 g£1.65–£3.81£34.50 for 32 × 85 g; £34.50 ÷ 2,720 g × 130–300 g. Ocado offer price; its regular price shown was £38.50.10.9 g52.8%
Whiskas 1+ Poultry Feasts in JellyLowest cost per day at the top of its feeding range (£1.15)£1.01–£1.15£24.19 for 84 × 85 g£1.20–£1.38£13.75 for 40 × 85 g; £13.75 ÷ 40 × 3.5–4Energy not stated50.3%
Felix As Good As It Looks (in jelly)Most protein per 100 kcal of the foods that state energy (15.3 g)£1.01–£1.35£26.99 for 80 × 85 g£1.05–£1.40£14.00 for 40 × 85 g (Favourites Selection); £14.00 ÷ 40 × 3–4. Ocado offer price until 3 November 2026; its regular price shown was £15.00.15.3 g63.9%
Purina Pro Plan Sterilised Adult Chicken (pouches)The only wet food here made for neutered (sterilised) cats£1.91£15.29 for 20 × 85 g£1.87£7.49 for 10 × 85 g; £7.49 ÷ 10 × 2.513.8 g59.1%
Bozita Chunks in Jelly (salmon)Labelled grain-free; declares 37% meat and animal by-products£3.17£25.39 for 24 × 85 gNo listing found at Ocado, Tesco, Sainsbury's or Pets at Home when we searched on 21 Oct 2026Energy not stated47.2%

High protein cat food: which foods have the most protein?

The protein percentage on the front of a pack is not comparable between wet and dry food, because wet food is mostly water. Two fairer measures, both worked out from the label's analytical constituents: protein per 100 kcal (protein ÷ energy × 100), which shows how much protein a cat gets for the calories it eats, and dry-matter protein (protein ÷ (100 − moisture) × 100), the share of protein once the water is removed. Of the foods that state their energy, Felix As Good As It Looks has the most protein per 100 kcal at 15.3 g, and the complete wet foods give 10.9 to 15.3 g against 6.8 to 7.7 g for the dry foods.

Label values checked on 21 October 2026. These figures compare labels; they are not a health ranking, and every complete food here is made to meet the cat's needs when fed as directed.
FoodTypeLabel: protein, moisture, energyProtein per 100 kcalProtein, dry matterSource
Lily's Kitchen Smooth PatéWet9.5% protein; 82% moisture; 87 kcal per 100 gChicken, Lamb and Chicken & Game patés; the Turkey with Duck paté lists 81% moisture and 90 kcal.10.9 g9.5 ÷ 87 × 10052.8%9.5 ÷ (100 − 82) × 100zooplus UK product page (analytical constituents)
Purina Pro Plan Sterilised (chicken)Wet13% protein; 78% moisture; 94 kcal per 100 gThe zooplus page gives no analysis, so the figures are from Purina UK's page for the chicken recipe.13.8 g13 ÷ 94 × 10059.1%13 ÷ (100 − 78) × 100Purina UK: Pro Plan Sterilised Maintenance Chicken
Whiskas 1+ Poultry FeastsWet7.8% protein; 84.5% moisture; energy not statedPoultry Feasts in Jelly. zooplus lists energy for other Whiskas ranges (71 to 73 kcal) but not for this one.Not stated50.3%7.8 ÷ (100 − 84.5) × 100zooplus UK product page (analytical constituents)
Felix As Good As It LooksWet11.5% protein; 82% moisture; 75 kcal per 100 gFavourites Selection in Jelly, from Purina UK (the zooplus page gives no analysis). Ocado's listing of the same pack shows 11.0% protein.15.3 g11.5 ÷ 75 × 10063.9%11.5 ÷ (100 − 82) × 100Purina UK: Felix As Good As It Looks Favourites Selection in Jelly
Bozita Chunks in JellyWet8.5% protein; 82% moisture; energy not statedSalmon. No energy figure on the zooplus page or one we could find from the maker.Not stated47.2%8.5 ÷ (100 − 82) × 100zooplus UK product page (analytical constituents)
James Wellbeloved Turkey & RiceDry25.3% protein; moisture not stated; 372 kcal per 100 gFrom the maker's page. zooplus lists 32.9% protein and 17.4% fat for the same recipe, with no energy figure; the two sources disagree, so check the pack.6.8 g25.3 ÷ 372 × 100Not statedWellbeloved UK: Adult Turkey & Rice Dry Cat Food
Royal Canin British ShorthairDry34% protein; moisture not stated; energy not statedRoyal Canin's UK page and zooplus list protein but neither moisture nor energy.Not statedNot statedRoyal Canin UK: British Shorthair Adult
Hill's Science Plan Adult (chicken)Dry31.9% protein; 4% moisture; 416 kcal per 100 gMoisture and energy from Hill's 'average nutrient and caloric content' table.7.7 g31.9 ÷ 416 × 10033.2%31.9 ÷ (100 − 4) × 100Hill's Pet Nutrition UK: Science Plan Adult Cat Food with Chicken
Applaws chicken in brothWet, complementary14% protein; 82% moisture; energy not statedChicken Breast recipe, the first listed; other recipes in the selection list 15–16% protein and 80–81% moisture.Not stated77.8%14 ÷ (100 − 82) × 100zooplus UK product page (analytical constituents)
FEDIAF minimum for adult catsReferenceMinimum recommended levels for a complete adult food. The higher figure applies to less active cats that eat fewer calories (75 kcal × body weight in kg to the power 0.67 a day).6.25–8.33 g25–33.3%FEDIAF Nutritional Guidelines (2025)

Why some cells are blank: UK feed law (Regulation 767/2009, Annex I) only requires moisture on the label when it is over 14%, so most dry foods leave it off, and energy is optional. We have not estimated missing values. The FEDIAF guidelinesset protein minimums per 1,000 kcal precisely because a cat that eats fewer calories, such as an indoor or neutered cat, needs more protein in each calorie to get enough. If you want a higher-protein food, compare protein per 100 kcal on the label rather than the word “high” on the front, and ask your vet first if your cat has kidney disease.

Healthy cat food: what to look for on a UK label

There is no legal definition of “healthy” cat food, so the useful checks are on the back of the pack. The PDSA's vets recommend a complete commercial food, chosen for your cat's life stage (kitten, junior, adult or senior), weighed on electronic scales, with meals reduced when you give treats; it does not recommend feeding human food scraps. On the label, look for the word complete, the life stage, the feeding guide for your cat's weight, and the analytical constituents, which let you work out protein per 100 kcal as in the table above. A named meat percentage, a grain-free claim or a premium price is a preference rather than a health requirement. International Cat Care adds that fresh water should always be available. If your cat is losing or gaining weight, or drinking more, contact your vet.

Complete vs complementary cat food

“Complete” is a legal term. UK Pet Food, the trade body, explains that a complete food contains all the nutrients a pet needs to support its daily life when fed as directed, while a complementary food needs other food added to provide nutritional balance; treats and toppers are complementary. Every food in our table is complete except the Applaws cans, which are labelled complementary: they are mostly chicken breast and broth, so they score highly on protein but are not a whole diet on their own. Feed a complementary food alongside a complete one and count its calories in the daily total. The same label also lists ingredients in descending order of weight, and a phrase such as “meat and animal derivatives (4% chicken)” means at least 4% chicken, as UK Pet Food explains.

How much is cat food a month?

Cat food for a 4 kg adult cat costs about £13.80 to £15.60 a month on the complete dry foods in this comparison and £23.70 to £95.10 a month on the complete wet foods, using zooplus UK one-off prices checked on 21 October 2026 and each maker's feeding guide. Most of the spread comes from wet food: the cheapest wet foods here cost about twice as much a day as dry, and the dearest more than six times as much. Cats Protection puts food at £20 to £50 a month. Our cat food cost guide sets these figures against the charity estimates, and the cost of owning a cat guide adds litter, flea treatment and boosters. To turn a food's calories into a daily portion for your own cat, use the cat food portion calculator.

Wet or dry cat food: which is better?

International Cat Care notes that cats tend to concentrate their urine rather than drink more water, so cats fed mostly dry food should be encouraged to drink, particularly to help prevent urinary problems. Wet food is mostly water (the complete wet food labels we checked state 78–84.5% moisture), so it supplies more fluid but costs more per day. Some cats prefer running water, although a controlled study found no overall difference in how much cats drank from a fountain: see our cat water fountain comparison. If your cat has an upset stomach on its current food, our sensitive stomach cat food comparison covers gentler recipes.

Cat food by life stage: kitten, adult, senior and sensitive

The foods on this page are adult foods. Kittens need a growth food, and International Cat Care notes that growing kittens need more protein and calories: our kitten food comparison covers foods labelled for kittens up to about 12 months. For adult cats, any complete adult food in the table above works if you feed the right amount; the cat food portion calculator turns your cat's weight and activity into grams. Senior food is covered in the section below. For cats with loose stools or vomiting after meals, see our cat food for sensitive stomachs, and if the problem continues, contact your vet. To budget for a year, the cat food cost guide sets our daily costs against charity estimates.

Should indoor cats eat indoor cat food?

Indoor cat food is not a separate nutritional category: it is a complete adult food that makers usually pitch as lower in calories or higher in fibre. What matters for an indoor cat is calories. The PDSA says over a third of UK cats are overweight, and that an overweight cat that stays indoors is likely taking in more calories than it burns; it suggests a lower-calorie diet and daily play. Any complete food can work for an indoor cat if you feed the amount for its weight and activity. The Purina Pro Plan food here is made for neutered (sterilised) cats and its maker gives a daily amount for a 4 kg cat; check the feeding guide whichever food you choose.

Is senior cat food necessary?

Cats Protection says cats are generally considered senior from 11 years old, and that senior food should contain reduced phosphorus and enough protein to maintain weight and muscle, because a cat's ability to digest fat falls with age. Kidney disease is the main reason this matters: in a VetCompass study of cats at English vet practices, renal disorders were the most common recorded cause of death in cats dying at five years or older, at 13.6% (O'Neill et al., 2015), and the ISFM guidelines say chronic kidney disease may affect 30–40% or more of cats over ten. Regular check-ups help catch it early, and International Cat Care advises wet food for cats that already have kidney disease. If you are worried about your cat's weight or thirst, contact your vet. Young cats need a growth food instead: see our kitten food comparison.

Is premium cat food worth it?

Premium cat food is not a defined term, and in this comparison price does not follow protein. The dearest complete wet food here, Bozita at £3.17 a day, has 47.2% protein on a dry-matter basis, while Felix, at £1.01–£1.35 a day, has 63.9%. What a higher price does buy, on these labels, is a declared meat content (Lily's Kitchen states 65% named meat; several cheaper foods state only a small named percentage) or a grain-free recipe. Those are reasonable preferences, but they are not shown to make a food healthier for a typical adult cat. Compare the cost per day and the label, and keep to a complete food.

Is a cat food subscription cheaper?

A cat food subscription can be cheaper than buying one-off, but only by the discount on the food you already buy. Every daily cost on this page uses the zooplus one-off price, before any Repeat or voucher discount, so the figures are a ceiling rather than a floor. Fresh-food subscriptions work differently: they price each cat individually, so there is no published price to compare until you get a quote. Our cat food subscription comparison sets out the discounts, delivery charges and cancellation terms of the main UK services, dated, so you can compare them with a one-off order. If you feed on a schedule while you are out, an automatic cat feeder can portion dry food for you.

Breed foods

Royal Canin British Shorthair costs about £0.51 a day for a 4 kg cat, close to the general dry foods here. A breed food is a complete adult food; Royal Canin says this one has arched kibble developed for the breed's jaw. Any food labelled complete is made to be fed on its own as the whole diet, so a breed food is a choice rather than a requirement: compare it on cost and calories like any other. Our British Shorthair guide and the cat breeds hub cover weight and health by breed. For health cover, see our cat insurance guide.

Others we looked at

  • Farmina N&D: not listed because we could not confirm a current UK price.

Frequently asked questions

Is wet cat food better than dry?

Neither is better for every cat: both can be complete. International Cat Care notes that cats tend to concentrate their urine rather than drink more, so cats on dry food should be encouraged to drink, particularly to help prevent urinary problems, and its advice for cats that already have kidney disease is to feed wet food. Most owners feed a mix.

Is dry cat food bad for cats?

No. A dry food labelled complete contains all the nutrients a cat needs when fed as directed (UK Pet Food). International Cat Care says dry food is cheaper and more convenient, and that fresh water should always be available, especially for cats eating mostly dry food. If your cat drinks much more or less than usual, contact your vet.

What wet cat food is high in protein?

Of the wet foods we compared that state their energy, Felix As Good As It Looks has the most protein for its calories: 15.3 g per 100 kcal on Purina UK's label, then Purina Pro Plan Sterilised at 13.8 g and Lily's Kitchen at 10.9 g. The complete dry foods that state energy have 6.8 to 7.7 g. See the protein table for the working.

What wet cat food is healthiest?

No single wet food is healthiest for every cat. The PDSA's vets recommend a complete commercial food suited to your cat's life stage, fed by weight. Check that the label says complete, not complementary, and compare protein per 100 kcal rather than the protein percentage on the front. If your cat has a health condition, ask your vet which food suits it.

Is premium cat food worth it?

Price does not track protein in the foods we compared. Bozita, the dearest complete wet food here at £3.17 a day, has 47.2% protein once the water is removed; Felix, at £1.01–£1.35 a day, has 63.9%. A dearer food may declare more named meat or leave out grains, which some owners prefer, so compare the label against the cost per day.

Is dry cat food more calorie dense?

Yes. The dry foods here that state energy have 372–416 kcal per 100 g and the complete wet foods 75–94 kcal, because the wet labels here state 78–84.5% water. That is why the makers here suggest 52–60 g of dry food a day for a 4 kg cat but 2½ to 4 pouches of wet. Our cat food portion calculator works out grams for your cat.

How much does it cost to feed a cat per day?

For a 4 kg cat, the complete foods we checked cost from about £0.46 a day for dry food to £3.17 for one wet food, using zooplus prices on 21 October 2026. That is about £13.80 to £95.10 a month.

What age is senior cat food for?

Cats Protection says cats are generally considered senior from 11 years old. It says senior food should contain reduced phosphorus and enough protein to maintain weight and muscle. Ask your vet before changing food if your older cat has a health condition.

Which cat foods provide complete and balanced nutrition?

Any food labelled complete. In the UK, complete is a legal term: UK Pet Food explains that it means the food contains all the nutrients a pet needs when fed as directed, while a complementary food needs other food added. Applaws' core cans in our table, for example, are labelled complementary, so feed them alongside a complete food.

What changed in this update

  • 21 October 2026: Added protein per 100 kcal and dry-matter protein for each food, worked out from label protein, moisture and energy (zooplus, or Purina UK, Wellbeloved, Royal Canin UK and Hill's UK where zooplus gives no analysis), with a FEDIAF reference row; a wet food shortlist with Ocado prices for four wet foods; and sections on healthy cat food labels, complete vs complementary food, life stages and premium food. FAQs replaced with questions people search for. Wet food moisture range widened to 78–84.5% to include the Pro Plan label. Wellbeloved's own page lists lower protein (25.3%) than zooplus (32.9%) for the same recipe; we show the maker's figure and flag the difference.
  • 21 October 2026: Upgrade: every price, feeding guide and meat percentage re-checked on zooplus UK (no changes, so cost per day is unchanged); added cost per month, a short answer, sections on monthly cost, indoor food, senior food, subscriptions and breed foods, and links to the new kitten, sensitive stomach, subscription and calculator pages. VetCompass and ISFM kidney figures re-checked and linked; the moisture range corrected to 81–84% from the labels.
  • 21 October 2026: Meat percentages and daily costs corrected to match the labels and prices; the US name 'Science Diet' for Hill's replaced; the claim that kidney disease is caused by dry food removed.
Corrections and questions

Spotted a price change or a mistake?

Tell us and we will check it. Corrections are dated on the page and listed in our corrections log.