How cat insurance policies compare, and what common cat conditions cost
Radioactive iodine treatment for an overactive thyroid costs £2,700 to £4,200 at two UK referral centres, and the average pet insurance claim was £685 in 2024 (ABI). Below, 11 insurers' cat cover set out A to Z from their own documents, read on 21 October 2026.
Pawwala is not authorised by the FCA. We explain how cover works and do not give advice or recommend insurers. Pawwala earns a fee when you get a quote through a link marked Ad. Always read the policy wording. How we make money
Key facts
- No policy is best for every cat. Compare cover type, limits, excess and exclusions.
- Radioactive iodine for hyperthyroidism costs £2,700 to £4,200 at the University of Glasgow and Langford Vets.
- A fixed co-payment for cats starts at age 9 or 10 on the verified policies that publish an age.
- Cats often hide illness, so by the time it is obvious it can be advanced and expensive to treat.
- Lifetime cover keeps paying for long-term conditions each year you renew; time-limited and maximum benefit policies stop.
The four types of cover
| Type | How the limit works | Long-term conditions | Watch out for |
|---|---|---|---|
| Lifetime | Resets each year you renew | Keeps paying, up to the yearly limit | Premiums usually rise with age and claims |
| Per-condition (maximum benefit) | A fixed total for each condition | Stops once that condition's total is used up | The size of the per-condition total |
| Time-limited | Per condition, for a set time, often 12 months | Stops when the time runs out, even if treatment continues | You pay ongoing costs after that |
| Accident-only | Accidents and injuries only | Illness is not covered | No cover for illness at all |
The type of cover decides what happens if your pet develops a long-term condition. For the full picture, see lifetime vs annual pet insurance.
Questions to ask any insurer
- What is the vet-fee limit, and is it per year or per condition?
- What is the excess, and is it per condition or per claim? Is there a co-payment, and from what age?
- Are there sub-limits inside the main limit, for example for one condition or for dental treatment?
- How are conditions that affect both sides of the body, such as both knees, treated?
- Are hereditary and breed-related conditions covered?
- What happens to the price and the cover at renewal?
The answers are in the policy wording and the insurance product information document (IPID). If they are not clear, ask the insurer before you buy.
Is cat insurance worth it?
It depends on whether you could pay a large vet bill yourself. Cats hide signs of illness, so kidney disease, heart problems or hyperthyroidism can be advanced before you notice, and long-term conditions need treatment for years. A lifetime policy keeps paying for them each year you renew; a time-limited policy stops after 12 months. The wider picture is in is pet insurance worth it in the UK?
What common cat conditions cost
- Chronic kidney disease (CKD): Kidney disorders were the most common recorded cause of death in cats aged five and over in a VetCompass study of English practices (13.6%, 2015). Management can involve special diets, fluids, medication and regular blood tests for the rest of the cat's life.
- Hyperthyroidism: Found in 8.7% of cats aged ten and over in a VetCompass study (2014). Options include lifelong daily medication, surgery or radioactive iodine, which costs £2,700 to £3,500 including VAT at the University of Glasgow (plus up to £500 for extra tests) and £4,200 at Langford Vets (prices correct at 1 May 2026).
- Urinary blockages (especially males): A cat that strains to pass urine and produces little or none needs a vet urgently. Treatment can involve unblocking under anaesthetic and a hospital stay, and some cats block again. If you are worried, contact your vet straight away.
- Dental disease: Periodontal disease was the most common condition in a VetCompass study of cats in general practice (13.9%, 2014). A cat scale and polish cost £200–£565 and dental work with extractions £425–£1,305 on the 6 practice price lists we checked on 21 October 2026.
- Cancer: Treatment varies from surgery to remove a lump to chemotherapy or radiotherapy at a referral centre, so costs vary widely.
How much is cat insurance?
Insurers do not publish standard prices. The ABI's most recent published average premium is £389 a year for 2023, across cats and dogs (ABI figures). The PDSA lists age, breed, postcode and claims history as what premiums are based on (PDSA). Defaqto found 72% of cat policies add a compulsory co-payment from a set age, most often 10 (Defaqto, June 2024 data). For the full monthly cost of a cat, see the cost of owning a cat.
Do indoor cats need insurance?
Indoor cats avoid road traffic and fights, but not illness. Kidney disease, hyperthyroidism and dental disease, the conditions above, affect indoor cats too. Some insurers ask whether your cat goes outdoors and price accordingly.
| Cat type | What to check |
|---|---|
| Indoor cat | Less exposure to road traffic and fights; still at risk of long-term illness. |
| Outdoor cat | Exposed to road traffic and fights as well as illness; check third-party and accident cover. |
| Pedigree (Bengal, Ragdoll, Maine Coon) | Some breeds have breed-linked conditions that can affect price and exclusions. See our cat breed guides. |
| Rescue cat (unknown history) | Anything in the vet history before cover starts will be excluded as pre-existing. |
| Kitten | Insurers generally accept kittens from 8 weeks; cover started young excludes least. |
Breed guides: cat breeds. For a new kitten, see kitten insurance.
What would a claim pay back?
An illustration of how excess, co-payment and limits add up. Your policy wording decides what is actually paid. Some policies apply the excess per condition, others per claim.
Insurer pays
£1,120.80
You pay
£379.20
How it adds up
- Bill £1,500 minus excess £99 leaves £1,401.
- Co-payment of 20% on £1,401 is £280.20.
- The insurer's share is £1,401 minus £280.20 = £1,120.80. That is within the limit left of £4,000, so the insurer pays £1,120.80.
- Your share: excess £99 + co-payment £280.20 = £379.20.
This uses no real insurer's terms. Policies can also have sub-limits, for example for one condition or for dental treatment, and claims for a condition can be declined under the policy's exclusions.
Open it on its own page: pet insurance claim calculator.
Policy features, A to Z
Listed alphabetically. This is not a ranking.
Each insurer's cat cover, vet-fee limits and cat co-payment, from its current policy wording or IPID, in alphabetical order.
Agria
- Cover sold
- Lifetime only, four levels
- Vet-fee limit
- £3,000, £6,500, £12,500 or £20,000 a year
- Co-payment (cats)
- Percentage excess shown on your schedule; no starting age in the documents
- Dental illness
- Yes, if a vet examined the teeth and gums in the 15 months before the illness
- Checked
- 2026-10-21
Animal Friends
- Cover sold
- Lifetime, per-condition lifetime, maximum benefit, time-limited and accident-only ranges
- Vet-fee limit
- Lifetime £1,000 to £18,000 a year; other ranges per condition
- Co-payment (cats)
- 20% or 35% from age 10
- Dental illness
- Higher levels only (up to £1,000 or £3,000), with a dental exam in the year before the illness
- Checked
- 2026-10-21
John Lewis
- Cover sold
- Lifetime, maximum benefit or time-limited
- Vet-fee limit
- Shown on your certificate; not published in the policy documents
- Co-payment (cats)
- Percentage becomes fixed from an age shown on your certificate
- Dental illness
- Yes, with a history of annual check-ups and advice followed within 6 months
- Checked
- 2026-10-21
LV=
- Cover sold
- Lifetime or time-limited
- Vet-fee limit
- Lifetime £1,000 to £12,000 a year; time-limited up to £3,000 per condition for 12 months
- Co-payment (cats)
- 20% from the renewal after the 10th birthday (not on the £1,000 level)
- Dental illness
- Yes, if the teeth were checked in the 12 months before the first symptoms
- Checked
- 2026-10-21
ManyPets
- Cover sold
- Lifetime plans (Essential, Standard, Standard Pre-existing, Complete Care)
- Vet-fee limit
- £1,000 to £20,000 a year, by plan
- Co-payment (cats)
- 20% from the first renewal after the 7th birthday
- Dental illness
- Standard and Complete Care only, with an annual dental check-up
- Checked
- Awaiting re-check
MORE THAN
- Cover sold
- Basic (time-limited), Classic (maximum benefit) or Premier (lifetime)
- Vet-fee limit
- Premier £1,000 to £6,000 per condition each year; Classic £4,000 or £8,000 per condition; Basic £1,500 or £3,000 per condition for 12 months
- Co-payment (cats)
- Optional 0%, 10% or 20% before age 9; 20% from age 9
- Dental illness
- Premier only (up to £1,000 or £2,000), with a dental check in the 12 months before cover starts
- Checked
- 2026-10-21
Petplan
- Cover sold
- Lifetime (Covered For Life) or time-limited (Essential)
- Vet-fee limit
- Lifetime £4,000, £7,000 or £12,000 a year; Essential £3,000 per condition for 12 months
- Co-payment (cats)
- 20% from the renewal after the 10th birthday on Covered For Life
- Dental illness
- Yes, if the teeth were checked in the 12 months before the first symptoms
- Checked
- 2026-10-21
Purely Pets
- Cover sold
- Lifetime only, 15 levels
- Vet-fee limit
- £1,000 to £15,000 a year
- Co-payment (cats)
- 20% from age 6
- Dental illness
- Dental illness from the second policy year, with annual dental check-ups
- Checked
- Awaiting re-check
RSPCA Pet Insurance
- Cover sold
- Lifetime, four levels
- Vet-fee limit
- £1,000, £4,000, £7,000 or £10,000 a year
- Co-payment (cats)
- Percentage may become fixed from an age shown on your certificate
- Dental illness
- Yes, with a history of annual check-ups and advice followed within 6 months
- Checked
- 2026-10-21
Tesco Pet Insurance
- Cover sold
- Lifetime, maximum benefit, time-limited, or accident and injury
- Vet-fee limit
- Shown on your certificate; not published in the IPIDs
- Co-payment (cats)
- Not stated in the IPIDs
- Dental illness
- Lifetime: yes, with a history of annual check-ups; not on accident and injury cover
- Checked
- 2026-10-21
Waggel
- Cover sold
- Lifetime only
- Vet-fee limit
- Chosen at quote; Waggel says up to £15,000
- Co-payment (cats)
- Optional; no age-related co-payment stated
- Dental illness
- Yes, up to £1,000, with a dental exam in the last 12 months
- Checked
- 2026-10-21
| Insurer | Cover sold | Vet-fee limit | Co-payment (cats) | Dental illness | Checked |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Agria | Lifetime only, four levels | £3,000, £6,500, £12,500 or £20,000 a year | Percentage excess shown on your schedule; no starting age in the documents | Yes, if a vet examined the teeth and gums in the 15 months before the illness | 2026-10-21 |
| Animal Friends | Lifetime, per-condition lifetime, maximum benefit, time-limited and accident-only ranges | Lifetime £1,000 to £18,000 a year; other ranges per condition | 20% or 35% from age 10 | Higher levels only (up to £1,000 or £3,000), with a dental exam in the year before the illness | 2026-10-21 |
| John Lewis | Lifetime, maximum benefit or time-limited | Shown on your certificate; not published in the policy documents | Percentage becomes fixed from an age shown on your certificate | Yes, with a history of annual check-ups and advice followed within 6 months | 2026-10-21 |
| LV= | Lifetime or time-limited | Lifetime £1,000 to £12,000 a year; time-limited up to £3,000 per condition for 12 months | 20% from the renewal after the 10th birthday (not on the £1,000 level) | Yes, if the teeth were checked in the 12 months before the first symptoms | 2026-10-21 |
| ManyPets | Lifetime plans (Essential, Standard, Standard Pre-existing, Complete Care) | £1,000 to £20,000 a year, by plan | 20% from the first renewal after the 7th birthday | Standard and Complete Care only, with an annual dental check-up | Awaiting re-check |
| MORE THAN | Basic (time-limited), Classic (maximum benefit) or Premier (lifetime) | Premier £1,000 to £6,000 per condition each year; Classic £4,000 or £8,000 per condition; Basic £1,500 or £3,000 per condition for 12 months | Optional 0%, 10% or 20% before age 9; 20% from age 9 | Premier only (up to £1,000 or £2,000), with a dental check in the 12 months before cover starts | 2026-10-21 |
| Petplan | Lifetime (Covered For Life) or time-limited (Essential) | Lifetime £4,000, £7,000 or £12,000 a year; Essential £3,000 per condition for 12 months | 20% from the renewal after the 10th birthday on Covered For Life | Yes, if the teeth were checked in the 12 months before the first symptoms | 2026-10-21 |
| Purely Pets | Lifetime only, 15 levels | £1,000 to £15,000 a year | 20% from age 6 | Dental illness from the second policy year, with annual dental check-ups | Awaiting re-check |
| RSPCA Pet Insurance | Lifetime, four levels | £1,000, £4,000, £7,000 or £10,000 a year | Percentage may become fixed from an age shown on your certificate | Yes, with a history of annual check-ups and advice followed within 6 months | 2026-10-21 |
| Tesco Pet Insurance | Lifetime, maximum benefit, time-limited, or accident and injury | Shown on your certificate; not published in the IPIDs | Not stated in the IPIDs | Lifetime: yes, with a history of annual check-ups; not on accident and injury cover | 2026-10-21 |
| Waggel | Lifetime only | Chosen at quote; Waggel says up to £15,000 | Optional; no age-related co-payment stated | Yes, up to £1,000, with a dental exam in the last 12 months | 2026-10-21 |
Premiums are not shown: they depend on your cat, postcode and cover level, so get a quote for your own cat. Policy facts come from each insurer's own policy wording or IPID on the date shown in the row. Rows marked 'Awaiting re-check' could not be confirmed against current documents. Limits and excess often depend on the level you choose and are confirmed in your own schedule or certificate. Always read the policy wording and get your own quote.
What do the policy documents say about cats?
What the policy documents show (9 insurers, read on 21 October 2026)
- 4 publish an age when a fixed co-payment starts for cats: Animal Friends 10, LV= 10, MORE THAN 9, Petplan 10. The rest set it on your schedule or certificate, or make it optional.
- All 9 make dental illness cover depend on a recent dental check, usually within the 12 months before the problem.
- 7 of the 9 exclude pre-existing conditions with no symptom-free period stated. LV= and Petplan say some exclusions can be lifted if criteria are met, without a fixed period.
Not on sale on the day we checked: Petpals (petpalsdirect.co.uk now redirects to Pet Protect, whose documents page lists no Petpals products.) Saga (Not on sale to new customers: saga.co.uk/pet-insurance shows 'Coming soon'.)
What changed in this update
- 21 October 2026: Policy table rebuilt from 11 insurers' current documents with cat co-payment ages and dental terms; removed the unsourced monthly prices and star ratings; corrected Glasgow's radioiodine price to £2,700 to £3,500; dental costs now from practice price lists checked today; added the ABI average premium and claim, cost and indoor-cat sections.
Getting quotes
A comparison site shows quotes from several insurers at once. Comparison sites do not cover the whole market, so you may also want to check insurers directly. Compare the cover type, limit, excess and exclusions before the price.
Not advice. Pawwala earns a fee if you get a quote through this link. Read the policy wording before you buy.
Special cases
Sources
- Association of British Insurers: insurance payouts for pets top £1 billion for third year in a row (2024 data) · May 2025; checked 21 October 2026
- Insurance Business UK: report of the ABI's 2024 pet insurance figures · 27 May 2025; checked 21 October 2026
- O'Neill et al., Longevity and mortality of cats attending primary care veterinary practices in England (VetCompass), J Feline Med Surg · 2015; checked 21 October 2026
- Stephens et al., Feline hyperthyroidism reported in primary-care veterinary practices in England (VetCompass), Veterinary Record · 2014; checked 21 October 2026
- O'Neill et al., Prevalence of disorders recorded in cats attending primary-care veterinary practices in England (VetCompass), The Veterinary Journal · 2014; checked 21 October 2026
- University of Glasgow Small Animal Hospital: cat clinic, radioiodine treatment · no date on page; checked 21 October 2026
- Langford Vets: radioactive iodine prices · correct as at 1 May 2026; checked 21 October 2026
- Defaqto: your pet's birthday could cost you (co-insurance by age across UK pet policies) · June 2024 data; checked 21 October 2026
- Carnforth Pet Care, Carnforth, Lancashire: dental price list · checked 21 October 2026
- Old Registry Vets, Scunthorpe: dental price list · checked 21 October 2026
- Canterbury Vets, Canterbury: dental price list · checked 21 October 2026
- Queen's Veterinary School Hospital general practice, Cambridge: dental price list · checked 21 October 2026
- University of Liverpool Veterinary Practice, Liverpool: dental price list · checked 21 October 2026
- Royal Veterinary College general practice, London (Camden): dental price list · checked 21 October 2026
- Agria: Agria Lifelong policy pack (dog), published 03/2025, and Lifetime IPIDs · checked 21 October 2026
- Animal Friends: Animal Friends policy booklets and IPIDs, January 2026 (v6) · checked 21 October 2026
- John Lewis: John Lewis Pet Insurance policy wording P3431v2 (Pinnacle), October 2025 · checked 21 October 2026
- LV=: LV= Pet Insurance Lifetime policy booklet, plans bought from 6 August 2026 · checked 21 October 2026
- MORE THAN: MORE THAN pet insurance policy booklet MTPET-PB-02, policies from 15 June 2026 · checked 21 October 2026
- Petplan: Petplan Covered For Life and Essential policy booklets, effective 17 June 2024 · checked 21 October 2026
- RSPCA Pet Insurance: RSPCA Pet Insurance policy wording P3338v5 (Pinnacle), January 2026 · checked 21 October 2026
- Tesco Pet Insurance: Tesco Pet Insurance Lifetime IPID IP3416A (Pinnacle) · checked 21 October 2026
- Waggel: Waggel policy wording version 21, effective 17 February 2026 (latest public version) · checked 21 October 2026
More to read
Frequently asked questions
Is cat insurance worth it in the UK?
It can be. Radioactive iodine treatment for hyperthyroidism costs £2,700 to £3,500 at the University of Glasgow and £4,200 at Langford Vets, and kidney disease was the most common cause of death in cats aged five and over in a VetCompass study. The ABI's average claim was £685 in 2024. Whether insurance is worth it depends on whether you could pay bills like these yourself.
How much is cat insurance in the UK?
No insurer publishes a standard price. The ABI's most recent published average premium is £389 a year for 2023, across all pets. Your quote depends on age, breed, postcode, cover level and excess.
Can I insure an older cat in the UK?
Three insurers' documents we read set the upper age for new cat policies at the 10th birthday. If your cat is already insured, lifetime policies renew regardless of age, which is why continuous cover matters. Expect a co-payment: several policies add 20% from age 9 or 10 for cats.
Is indoor cat insurance cheaper?
Some insurers ask whether your cat goes outdoors, because outdoor cats face road traffic and fights. Indoor cats still develop kidney disease, hyperthyroidism and dental disease, so compare quotes for your cat rather than assuming indoor cover is unnecessary.
Does cat insurance cover neutering?
No. Standard UK cat insurance does not cover neutering, vaccinations or routine care. See what cat spaying costs and what cat vaccinations cost at UK practices.
How much cat insurance do I need?
Pawwala cannot advise on that. As information: published lifetime limits in the documents we read run from £1,000 to £20,000 a year, and a single course of radioactive iodine treatment costs £2,700 to £4,200 at two UK referral centres. Compare the limit with the treatments your cat might need.